For some of you out there who are trying to go on a gluten-free diet, there are questions that all of you need to know the answer of: are French fries gluten-free? All of us know that French fries are one of the most comforting comfort foods ever. You can eat it as it is, you can eat it with ketchup, you can it eat it with peanut butter, and you can also eat it with mayo. French fries is such an adaptive food that you can eat both sweet and savory. They are also made of potatoes, the food that has saved Europe a few centuries ago. They are good food that everybody can enjoy, no matter what their food preferences are.
Now let us get back to the question, shall we? French fries is a food made of potatoes, and potatoes are naturally gluten-free, right? For that reason, we can believe that French fries do not contain gluten in it, right?
While you are not entirely wrong in thinking that they are no trace of gluten within potatoes, French fries are a different matter. Sure there is no gluten within potatoes, but the presence of gluten within French fries depends on lots of factors. What are those factors?
- The way you fry them
Let me tell you this: every kitchen utensils and appliance in this world are gluten-free. They are free of gluten and other things that may be dangerous for those with celiac disease. You can safely cook using those utensils if you want to avoid gluten.
At least it is safe until you use those particular utensils to cook stuff containing gluten in it.
After you have cooked something that contains gluten in it, your utensil will be riddled with gluten all over it. If you cook your fries using those particular utensils, your fries will not be gluten-free
- The way you batter them
People often eat French fries as they are. They cut potatoes into matchsticks, wash them, dry them, throw them into the fryer, drain the excess oil, and eat them. However, some people love to put batter unto their fries (as if the carbs within the fries alone was not enough!). If you put any kind of batter in your fries, your fries are definitely NOT gluten-free. A batter usually requires a good amount of flour within it, and we all know that flour is never gluten-free unless said otherwise.
- If you love French fries in fast food restaurants, I can recommend you some
Perhaps you have been asking yourself a few of these questions: ‘are Mcdonalds French fries gluten-free?’ Or ‘are burger king’s French fries gluten-free?’ and you are right to have asked those question. In this age, everything needs to be fast because the world and time will not stop for you. Even people who cannot tolerate gluten needs to be fast as well. You need to eat food fast, and the only place you can get and eat food fast is in fast food restaurants.
There is something that you anti-gluten guys need to know before you go on ahead to your nearest fast food restaurant and order a French fries. To be honest, although many chain restaurants have a gluten-free menu, their French fries are often not gluten-free. That is why if you want to avoid gluten, you need to avoid ordering French fries on fast food restaurants.
- Are store-bought French fries gluten-free?
That depends, of course. Some French fries have the gluten-free symbol on them, and you can be sure that those French fries will be gluten-free provided you do not cook them on gluten stained appliances.
- Are French fries wheat free?
Of course, they are, what the heck with that question?
If you mean that there are a few brands of French fries that contain wheat in them, sure those brands exist. But the brands will often put out a warning first because if you do not do them, the company who owned the brand can get a lawsuit. This is even more possible if you live in the United States of America, where joking about something that can trigger some people can land you a lawsuit.
I hope these answers answer your ‘are French fries gluten-free’ question, fellas.