What is celiac sprue? There are many people who perhaps still unfamiliar about this. Celiac sprue is actually known as celiac disease which refers to severe health disorder on the digestive tract that results on the inability to receive gladin. It is a fraction found in alcohol-soluble. Besides, gluten itself is commonly found in starchy plants like wheat and barley. Hence, people with this disorder often said as gluten-sensitive as well. A sufferer of celiac prune ingests gladin as a response for the inflammatory occurs. Then, this condition leads to damage in the mucous membrane in the intestine. As the result, intestines cannot do the function properly and malabsorption of food nutrients happens.

What happens with the celiac disease patient body?

To know what does celiac sprue mean, you need to know what happens when someone suffers from this disease.  It is compulsory for people with celiac disease to consume a gluten-free diet. The number of people who have celiac prune or other autoimmune disorder associated with gluten consumption is high. Gluten itself is a protein contained in starchy plants which makes an elastic and chewy texture of dough and bread.  Celiac disease patient when eating foods containing gluten, their body will react to this protein and cause damage on the villi, a finger-like surface in the small intestine’s wall. When the villi damaged, the food cannot be absorbed effectively by the intestines which not only lead to malnutrition, bone density reducing and infertility. 

Symptoms of celiac sprue

Talking about what is celiac sprue symptoms, it can be different from one person to another. Unlike a food allergy, the symptoms only associated with intestinal problems. People who get food allergy such as wheat commonly may experience itchy on their skin, watery eyes, or difficulty in breathing when consuming any food containing wheat. On the other hand, people with celiac disease might experience various kinds of problems associated with intestines such as abdominal pain, diarrhea, constipation, nausea, and bloating. If this disorder suffered by children, they may experience vomiting, pale and smelly stool, or weight loss. Even though the symptoms often appear among patients but not all of them may have it. Some others might not have any problem. This makes doctors to diagnose what is celiac sprue disease on someone. 

Diagnosis of celiac sprue disease

The majority of people with celiac sprue do not know they have it. The number of people who realized that they have it through appropriate diagnosis is still small. The progression of damage occurred in intestines is completely slow and the symptoms might be different from one patient to another. The early development of this disorder may take years before it appears on diagnosis. Then, what is celiac sprue test? Doctors commonly conduct two types of the blood test to identify whether someone has celiac disease or not. The first type called serology test which is to found a particular antibody and the second type is a genetic test which the aim is to find any human leukocyte antigens that may cause celiac disease. If the blood test is positive, you most likely to get endoscopy which includes small intestine examination and taking small parts of the damaged tissue.

Is celiac disease genetic? Celiac disease or also called as Celiac Sprue is the condition where the digestion system of the body intolerant gluten. This kind of condition cause nuisance that makes the body of people with celiac disease cannot perfectly absorb the nutrition from the foods they consume, it is usually called as malabsorption. In the end, this kind of condition causes various nuisance the function of the body. So, is celiac disease really genetic? Here is some information.

Factors that Cause Celiac Disease

There are some factors that make people get celiac disease, one of them is a genetic factor. People who have family members with celiac disease get a high level of risk of getting this kind of disease. It is because celiac disease is able to be included in a genetic disorder. So that they need to be more careful at keeping what they consume and also their lifestyles. There are also other factors of people getting celiac disease besides genetic factor. The first is the factor of an environment. If a person has experienced an infection in her or his digestion system such as rotavirus infection, he or she has a bigger risk to get celiac disease. The next factor is the health factor. Some illness such as Diabetes Type 1, illness of autoimmune, Down Syndrome, Sjogren Syndrome, and Turner Syndrome is able to increase the risk of getting the celiac disease for a person. So if you ask is celiac disease genetic of hereditary, the answer is yes. 

How to Treat Celiac Disease

In order to treat celiac disease, diet or changing the dietary habit is one of the keys. Because until now, there is no method of treatment found yet, which is able to cure celiac disease. But there are some specific ways which are able to be done to make the body of people with celiac disease becomes better.

Specific diet, in this case, means the people with celiac disease need to limit or even avoid any kinds of foods that contain gluten. Or it is able to be called a gluten-free diet. Some people with celiac disease may need specific supplements in order to increase the nutrition content in their bodies. And in order to control the symptoms of celiac disease, some specific medicines are also given by doctors according to the condition of the patient.

There are also other treatments which can be done :

  1. Diet planning is able to be helped by a nutritionist. Usually, the patient will be asked to consume healthy foods which are free from gluten such as fish, butter, cheese, and meats.
  2. For babies with celiac disease, foods which contain gluten should not be given before the babies enter 6 months old.
  3. If it is needed, the people with celiac disease need to consume food supplements, in order to prevent their bodies from lack of nutrition.
  4. The celiac disease patient still needs to do a gluten-free diet since the disease is able to relapse.

Above is the answer of is celiac disease genetic.

Is Brown Sugar Gluten-Free? Most people think that brown color from brown sugar comes from added caramel coloring. But the fact is, brown sugar is a result of refined cane sugar to molasses and added back. This means, brown sugar normally does not contain gluten as it does not contain grain ingredients and not added with food coloring additive that contains gluten. However, it is still a possibility for additional caramel coloring to brown sugar for darken the brown color. 

How to check brown sugar gluten free

As some brand of brown sugar product is might add additional food coloring additive to their brown sugar product, then the best way to know whether it is gluten free or not is by reading the ingredient label. The existence of food coloring does not always mean that it has the significant amount of gluten, but however, it is best for choose brands that have no added coloring other than the color from molasses. This will help you to decide whether a brand does brown sugar gluten free contain or not. 

Cookies with brown sugar gluten free recipe

If you want to snack with brown sugar ingredient, you can choose brown sugar gluten-free cookies that safe for celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. You can find it from the online store that sells gluten-free foods. This is the healthy snack that you can eat anytime without worrying about gluten. You also can make it in your kitchen using simple recipes.

Ingredients:

  • 1 softened stock butter
  • 1 egg with room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 ¼ all-purpose gluten free flour
  • 1 cup of brown sugar

Directions to make

  • Mix cream butter in stand mixer with sugar and beat well together. Scrape down sides if it is necessary
  • When the mixed sugar and cream becomes creamed, add vanilla and egg and mix together
  • Add flour and baking soda and then mix it well. Dough until thicker and add more ¼ cup of gluten-free flour
  • Refrigerate the dough into at least 3 hours to 5 days.
  • Preheat to the oven at 350 temperatures. Scoop dough with cookie scoop and form into balls.
  • Bake for 8-10 minutes.
  • Remove from oven and allow cooling before store to the airtight container for 5 days last.
  • Serve and enjoy your brown sugar gluten-free food 
Gluten free brown sugar brands

There are many brands of brown sugar available in the market. One thing that keeps on the mind from people who concern with celiac disease or sensitivity to gluten, they want to know whether A brand or B brand is gluten-free or not. The example is domino brown sugar gluten free? If you worrying brown sugar you buy is contain hidden gluten ingredients, then you can peace of mind when buying domino brown sugar as it is free from gluten at all. Domino says that their entire sugar product is gluten-free. Their confectioner sugar just contains with so small cornstarch (less than 0, 01% corn gluten) and not harmful for people who have a sensitivity to gluten.

Gluten-free restaurants Portland information is pretty searched by those who are traveling to Portland, but also need to limit their consumption of sugar. Gluten-free restaurants are also a choice for those who want to start a healthier lifestyle. You probably think that gluten-free foods are painful. But in Portland, you are really able to find gluten-free yet delicious foods. If you are looking for gluten-free restaurants which offer gluten-free foods, here they are. 

Andina

You will never recognize that you are eating gluten-free foods in this restaurant. You can even eat a brownie dessert without worrying about your blood sugar level. If you visit this gluten-free restaurant in Portland, make sure you do not miss their risotto. It is made with truffle oil, beef, vegetables, and mushroom which makes it really yummy. Once again, you do not have to be worried about your sugar blood level. Andina has a really pretty night spot, so you can also have gluten-free dining Portland. 

Corbett Fish House

This one of gluten-free restaurants Portland downtown offer gluten-free menu, which is all of them. You do not have to worry about eating fish fry, since they coat the fish first with brown rice flour before they fry it. For thickening the soups, they do not use wheat flour. The sauces they offer even are free from gluten. They also offer the menu for kids too if you bring your children to Portland.

Cultured Caveman

This gluten dairy free restaurants Portland has four branches. They are located in downtown of Portland, Alberta, North Portland, and also Hawthorne. Cultured Caveman restaurant does not only offer foods which are gluten-free, but also soy free and dairy free. But the foods this restaurant offer are still delicious even without those three ingredients. If you visit this restaurant, you can order its Salmon Poke Salad. For the dessert, Blueberry Cobbler Cup is its recommendation. 

Ground Breaker Brewing and Gastropub

For you who have been avoiding beer because of your diabetes, you can visit this place. Ground Breaker Brewing and Gastropub restaurant offer you beer which is gluten-free! They also offer delicious foods such as grilled shrimps and taco. 

Harlow

This gluten-free restaurant’s Portland offers the menu for breakfast, lunch, and also dinner. Harlow is located in Hawthorne and offers foods which are 100% free from gluten. Its recommendation is a menu called The Betty Bowl. Harlow also has a lot of sauces which are also gluten-free. If you visit this restaurant, you may want to try avocado cilantro. 

Jade

This restaurant is good for those who are looking for gluten-free foods, but it is also a good place for a vegetarian. They offer vegan menu such as salad rolls served with peanut sauce for its dipping. Black rice pudding is its recommendation for dessert. But you need to be in a quite long line of you want to eat in this one of gluten-free restaurants Portland.

Is vanilla ice cream gluten-free question is the most asked question by those who love ice cream, but need to limit the consumption of sugar. The sweetness and coldness of an ice cream will help you to be more relaxed and free from the stress. But, what about those who got diabetes? Is it true that diabetics need to avoid consuming ice cream at all?

How to Consume Vanilla Ice Cream for Diabetics

Food for diabetics mostly contains less sugar and fat, it is because diabetics need to control their blood sugar levels by limiting the consumption of sugar. This makes all kind and all flavor of ice cream which contains a high level of sugar becomes the biggest enemy for diabetics. Maybe some diabetics make some excuses like, is vanilla ice cream gluten free? Or is all vanilla ice cream gluten free?

Actually, diabetics still can consume ice cream. People with diabetes can consume ice cream with low sugar, low calories, and low fat. There is some ice cream brand that produces gluten-free vanilla ice cream. For example, Breyers. Breyers produce healthier vanilla ice cream which is without extra sugar, lactose-free, fat-free, and low carbohydrate. This may answer your question about is Breyers vanilla ice cream gluten free.

If it is hard for you to find gluten free ice cream in your town, especially gluten-free vanilla ice cream, you can make it yourself. Use sugar with low calories and low-fat milk. You can also add some fresh fruit to make it healthier and safer for your blood sugar. By making your own vanilla ice cream, you can also control the sugar level. 

Benefits of Consuming Ice Cream

You should not only ask is vanilla ice cream gluten-free, you should also ask the benefits of consuming ice cream. Not only relieving stress and calming, there are also other benefits you can get and here they are.

  1. Consuming ice cream can strengthen your bones. It is because ice cream is mostly made from milk which is the good source of calcium. This can be a replacement if you cannot drink milk.
  2. Ice cream is your source of energy. Ice cream contains a high level of nutritional value such as carbohydrate, fats, and protein. All of them are important as your source of energy to help you do your daily activities.
  3. Ice cream is able to increase your immune system. It is because ice cream contains lactoferrin, which is useful to prevent your body from viruses such as influenza and cytomegalovirus.
  4. Consuming ice cream is able to stimulate your brain. It is because ice cream contains thrombonin which is playing a role in decreasing stress. Besides, ice cream is made from milk which contains L-tryptophane which is nature sedative to make your nervous system relax. It is even claimed that consuming ice cream is able to avoid you from insomnia. Those are the benefits of consuming ice cream beside the answer of is vanilla ice cream gluten-free.